HALAL DIMSUM @ CLEMENTI??

Food Review #13: Kowloon Express

Heyheyhey it has been a while since my food reviews and I have FINALLY decided to use the name of the restaurant as the title for the post! Yeah, it is not particularly exciting news, but I’m just celebrating a change.

So last Saturday (yes this is a delayed post but #sorrynotsorry) my friends and I decided to try out this place because it was relatively nearby and also halal. Plus we had salted egg yolk cravings so why not, right?

And also my friends who are currently serving the nation happened to be free that day, we thought it would be a great place to just catch up and let them enjoy the civilian life for a while. Really thankful for them :’)

Ok enough with all this cringey-sweet drama, let’s go straight into the food!

WAOR9493

So this my friends, is the famous Golden Sand Pau. 3 piece for $5.90 . It has a slightly sweet salted egg yolk custard filling. Although the pau was a bit small, the taste was worth every dollar spent, trust me. You would NOT want to miss out on this one!

IMG_3241

The golden goodness of the pau. In fact, I am craving some right now as I type this because it was seriously damn good. 10/10.

YHFY9604

We were seriously craving salted egg yolk that day so we decided to get this Salted egg fish skin ($8.80)! The taste is not bad. But to be very honest, I felt that this was slightly more on the oily side, there was a lot of excess oil which kind of didn’t look very appealing to me. But overall, I felt that it was not bad, if it were less oily, it would definitely have been a favourite!

IMG_3245

The third item we tried is Beggar’s Chicken ($13.80). Please ignore the photo quality, I know it is horrible LMAO but don’t judge a book by it’s cover okay. This is some sort of chicken soup (?) with meat inside (sorry, I’m not completely aware of the different aspects of Chinese cuisine yet /sobs/ ). To me, it was a bit bland so I added a whole spoon of chilli for the extra kick, which tasted awesome!

IXAQ2941

So the Beggar’s chicken came in this black thing with fire at the bottom (ft. my friend) and yes, I did burn my hand because I was just plain dumb. But yeah, the soup was quite filling! If you crave for something light, yet filling, you should definitely try out this!

Yasss so this is the end of the post!

Also to all my muslim friends, this can be the perfect place to buka puasa for the coming month! Do let me know what you think of it yeah!

Address: 321 Clementi Mall, Clementi Ave 3, #01-01, Eng Wah Cinema, Singapore.

So until next post,

Peace and Love,

Tanushaaaaaaaaax

P.S I just wanted to give a quick shoutout to my very good friend Raidah for the beautiful pictures (except for the beggar’s chicken bowl one, that was taken by me LMAO hence the quality)! Do check her stuff out at http://dahslifeandstuff.tumblr.com/ !! Her photography skills are ah-MAY-zing~~

Leave a Reply

